Our Team

We are a team of highly experienced, qualified grooms and riders with a vast range of experience in all aspects of riding, horse care and management.

Jessica Fox Equine Services officially began in 2013 as a ‘one man band’, which involved just me chasing my tail across Essex caring for as many horses as I could. Over the years, the demand for professional freelance grooms has increased, which enabled me to grow my business and seek other freelance grooms that are just as passionate, dedicated, and hardworking as I am, to join my team.

We are mainly equine based, offering full livery, holiday cover, yard cover for big
professional/competition yards as well as livery yards. We offer clipping, exercising, and show preparation – basically anything and everything horse related! We also offer hound care/dog walking and have even looked after the odd bearded dragon or ferret!

We are based in Essex, just outside of London, and our services are available all year round. We cover most areas within an hour of our base, a travel cost may be added depending on distance but that would be discussed prior to your booking. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can help!

Our Team Members…

Jessica Fox BSc (Hons)

The founder of Jessica Fox Equine Services!
Jess began grooming whilst studying for a Diploma in Horse Care & Management and continued to do so all through her Equine Science degree. Once she had graduated, she then went on to groom full time and complete her BHS Riding & Road Safety and BHS Stage 2 exams.

Jess gained lots of experience and knowledge working for professional dressage and event riders allowing her to utilize this knowledge into starting her own little venture, “Jessica Fox Equine Services”.

Jess owns a special Danish Warmblood called Dings, who can be quite quirky! They have competed up to Advanced Medium and are hoping to dip their toes in to Prix St. George by the end of 2021. She lives with her boyfriend Oliver and Boston Terrier pup Koa in the countryside which is her favourite place to be!

Loves: A Costa coffee and a galaxy bar every morning on the way to work, and is known to consume more chocolate in one day than most people!

Hates: Spiders and rubbish tools for mucking out, especially a bad broom!

Favourite part of freelance grooming is meeting such a variety of horses along the way. It’s lovely to work with youngstock and watch them grow into mature young horses and see their future unfold, as well as already established horses that achieve so much in their careers, it gives you a ‘proud Aunt’ moment!

Megan Santry

Im Megan, I’m a 26 year old freelance groom from Essex. I’ve been part of JFES for just over 2 years and loved every minute (maybe not the soggy socks)! The job of a freelance groom means I get to cover a variety of yards – no 2 days are the same. I love being able to meet all the different horses/goats/chickens and their owners. It makes me proud knowing people trust us with their pride and joy on a daily basis.

As well as being a groom Im also a BHS Accredited Professional Coach and freelance coach across the Essex area. I own my own horse; Roxy, a very feisty 12 year chestnut warmblood who I have owned for almost 8 years. We’ve taken part in a variety of disciplines but British Showjumping is our favourite. I also have a second fur baby which is my 1 year old working cocker spaniel Bugzy who is a little crazy! He loves coming to work with me everyday, especially our evening walk where
he gets to do his favourite thing RUN!

In my spare time I love baking! Cookies seem to be my speciality but I’m working on my decorating skills to make the perfect birthday cakes! Who knows maybe I could learn to bake the horses some cakes…

Alice Palumbi

I have been working with horses since leaving Writtle college where I studied level 3 equine management. I went on to do an apprenticeship whilst gaining my BHS stages up to stage 3 ride and care as well as my stage 2 teach. Since then I have worked on a large high-end livery yard where I groomed, rode and taught many different types of horses from the competition ready to little kids ponies. After this, I went on to an RDA yard where I learnt a lot about teaching different types of people dependent on their needs. Here I also groomed and rode for a grade 1 para rider and went with her to the national championships.

More recently in my spare time, I decided to look more in-depth into equine behaviour as it is something that always interested me. At the beginning of 2020, I found the Equine Behaviour Affiliation and went on to complete the 9 month foundation course with them. My goal is to continue studying this further to be able to improve the lives of many horses that cross my path.

I also have my own horse, Dolly, who is a 13-year-old trotter. She unfortunately developed arthritis a few years ago due to strain from a young age but is now happily retired and enjoys a good groom and lots of carrots!

When I’m not around horses (not often!) I like a cosy night in with some good films and a delicious home cooked meal. Being half Italian I do love a pizza or pasta dish but NEVER with mushrooms! I do enjoy the occasional treat of an evening out with friends and a few cocktails too. I love working with Jess as there is so much variety from day to day and every yard is different. I truly believe that every horse has a personality and I love to learn each one’s little quirks and favourite scratchy spots! It’s so rewarding to be trusted with the clients’ lovely animals and to give them the best care I can.

free initial consultation

We will visit your stable free of charge, to gain a comprehensive understanding of the work required prior to commencing the job. Fill out your details below and we will be in touch to arrange your free visit.